Fibre packed refried beans are easy to make yourself and are fantastic fajita fillers 10 mins . Step 1: Sauté olive oil, garlic, cumin, and chili powder together until fragrant: Step 2. This version also incorporates red kidney beans for an interesting alternative. (This is more common in my kitchen than you would think.) How to make Refried Beans: Thoroughly rinse the beans. They’re incredibly easy to make and so tasty. Make sure you reserve the bacon grease and DO NOT wash the pan after you cook the bacon. Before we get to the recipe, it’s worth heading back in time to see what refried beans were like a few hundred years ago… Pot beans get mashed up and cooked in some fat, most likely lard. Next come canned diced tomatoes, spices, and vegan cheddar. You can make refried beans from scratch- and those taste delicious, too. I have been tinkering with this easy refried beans recipe for a couple of months now. In our minds, an easy refried black beans recipe would be something like dumping a can of beans into a blender with garlic powder and blending for 30 seconds. I will never buy canned refried beans again! How to Make Refried Beans Step One: If using dried beans: Rinse the dried beans thoroughly in cold water. Okay so this is a pretty easy recipe, with canned beans being used. It will fill you up on cold afternoons or make a wonderful last-minute lunch. Refried beans make a great side dish for just about any Mexican meal, and they can be added to soups, burritos, quesadillas and more. https://www.thespruceeats.com/recipes-that-start-with-refried-beans-4137027 Mash 'em up! Today we are keeping it simple and showing you how to cook up refried beans at home. Add shredded onion, garlic, cumin, salt and cayenne pepper. Refried beans (Spanish: frijoles refritos) is a dish of cooked and mashed beans and is a traditional staple of Mexican and Tex-Mex cuisine, although each cuisine has a different approach when making the dish.Refried beans are also popular in many other La